Connect with us

Nigeria News

[News] Oyo State House of Assembly Speaker, Olagunju Ojo defects to APC



Oyo State House of Assembly Speaker, Olagunju Ojo defects to APC

The Speaker of the Oyo State House of Assembly, Olagunju Ojo, the Minority Leader,  and five other lawmakers on Tuesday defected to three different parties.


The Clerk of the House, Paul Bankole, read the separate letters of defection by the lawmakers during the plenary session in Ibadan. The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the Speaker (Labour Party-Orire),  Mrs Wunmi Oladeji ( Labour Party-Ogbomoso North) and  Solomon Olukayode (Labour Party-Ogbomoso South) defected to the All Progressives Congress.

TRENDING:  [News] Man Campaigning For Buhari Attacked In Port Harcourt (Graphic Photos)


Gbenga Oyekola ( Labour Party-Atiba) and Peter Oyetunji (Labour Party-Ogo Oluwa/Surulere), on the other hand,  defected to African Democratic Congress and Peoples Democratic Party respectively.


The Minority Leader, Ademola Ige (Accord Party-Ibadan South-East II) and Fatai Adesina (Accord Party-Ibadan South-East I) defected to ADC.  Meanwhile, the house has appealed to the Commissioner of Police in the state, Abiodun Odude, to make conscious efforts to put a stop to gang-related crimes and violence in Oyo town.

TRENDING:  Osinbajo visits Olubadan


The assembly also urged the commissioner to deploy competent police units to tackle the dastardly activities of criminal gangs.  This followed a Matter of Urgent Public Importance raised by Mr Muideen Olagunju (Accord Party-Oyo East/Oyo West) during the plenary.  According to Olagunju, the dramatic upsurge in gang warfare within the town has resulted in residents living in fear.  “The acts of violence are traceable to battle for supremacy among bands of youths in certain black spots within the town.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *